Cruelty Free Foundation; OCC, Illamasqua and Face Atelier

Here are some more of my cruelty free foundations to review for you! All these foundations are VEGAN as well as cruelty free. Yes!

IMG_1546

Before we begin, here are some shameless snaps of me without any foundation on!

IMG_1095

IMG_1093

……………

…………………

OCC Primer 30ml

$27.50 USD

IMG_1551

Description from the site: This lightweight, oil-free lotion soothes and moisturizes while also creating a smooth surface for makeup to adhere to—an essential first step before applying makeup. A complex of Chamomile and Comfrey Root extracts soothe the skin, while Lemon Peel extract, a natural source for Vitamin C, provides anti-oxidant protection. Excellent as a combination moisturizer/primer for oil-rich skin types!

My thoughts: This is different to your usual silicone primer. Its more like a sticky clear gel that never quite stops being tacky! I do recommend that you wait at least 30 seconds before you start applying your foundation but I didn’t find that this helped with application of foundation, made my foundation last longer or evened out my skin the way I had hoped. I didn’t have to think too hard whether I liked it too much or not. I will continue to look for other cruelty free primers! If you are looking for one, try Coverfx! They’re vegan and fabulous too!

Ingredients: Deionized Water (Aqua), Vegetable Glycerin, Xanthan Gum, Anthemis Nobilis (Chamomile) Extract, Symphytum Officinale (Comfrey Root) Extract, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon Peel) Extract, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Benzoate, Potassium Sorbate

………..

……………

OCC Skin Tint 30ml

$27.50 USD

Description from website: A high-opacity, adjustable-coverage tinted moisturizer. Featuring a unique moisturizing complex made from purified water, coconut, and wild berry extracts, this foundation product nourishes as well as hydrates skin. Formulated from the finest vegan ingredients available, this product is also formulated with Aloe Leaf Extract  for coverage that feels as good as it looks.

IMG_1102

IMG_1127

My thoughts: I haven’t had any success with making this product work for me. No matter what method I try, I can’t seem to build coverage or make this blend. It dries pretty quickly so you feel like you have to work fast. In the end I find that I get a splotchy result which leaves me looking uneven!

The Y2 (too light) and Y3 (oxidizes rapidly) that I purchased were both a little bit of for my medium-deep skin tone (I used to be a NC35 MAC if you need a reference) It almost looks like I’ve got nothing on, which defeats the purpose of applying it in the first place. I can’t recommend this for anyone because its not a skin care product or a tinted moisturizer… its just not very good at all. Sorry OCC! I still love you! Please improve the formula!

IMG_1129

IMG_1131_fotor

Shades available: 6 shades from the Yellow range (starting from Y0 to Y5), 6 Shades for the red range (R0-R5)

Ingredients: Deionized Water, Glyceryl Stearate, Palmityl Alcohol, Sorbitan Stearate, Polyoxyethylene Sorbitan, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Phenoxyethanol, Benyl PCA | May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Ultramarines, Mica

Free from: Parabens – Sulfates – Phthalates – Oil – Silicone – Petroleum

………….

………………..

Illamasqua Skin Base Foundation 30ml

£32.00 GBP

IMG_1550

Description from website: Inspired by the cult Asian market Beauty Balm creams, Skin Base Foundation is a brand new, refined formula unlike anything on the UK market. Easily blendable, it effortlessly creates a perfect complexion, and like the entire Illamasqua foundation range, is undetectable in a professional HD environment. Suitable for all skin types, it smoothes, softens and conditions your skin whilst providing natural, buildable coverage.

My thoughts: Since I posted the review on my youtube channel I have grown to enjoy this foundation even more. In the video I mention that this foundation is a medium-full coverage. Very buildable and very unlike the conventional BB creams you see out there because its more on the matte side and fuller in coverage. It photographs BEAUTIFULLY in pictures, my skin is far from perfect but I was really wowed when I took these pictures!

In my original video review, I found the foundation picked up on texture like pores and flaky skin! You have to work at it to get it just right and after trying many methods, I recommended using a stippling brush which I found worked best. However,thats all changed now because  I discovered that the beauty blender turns this foundation into a dream! Blends beautifully, tapping and pressing from the sponge gets rid of the texture problem with ease! Its obviously thanks to the amazing beauty blender thats brought out the full potential of this product. Now I cant stop using this foundation! If you are looking to turn this foundation into your next holy-grail product then please use it with a beauty blender! Its honestly the best way!

I used a shade 10 for the video and the images you see here but I find now that the shade 9 is a better match for my yellow medium tone skin.

IMG_1137_fotor

IMG_1137

Shades available: 1, 2 ,3, 3.5 ,4 ,4.5 ,5 ,5.5 ,6 ,6.5 ,7 ,7.5 ,8 ,8.5 ,9 ,9.5 ,10 ,10.5 ,11 ,12 ,13 ,14 ,15 ,16 ,17 ,18

IMG_1161

IMG_1137_fotor

Ingredients: AQUA (WATER), CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, BUTYLENE GLYCOL, GLYCERIN, HYDROGENATED POLYISOBUTENE, PARAFFINUM LIQUIDUM (MINERAL OIL), PHENYL TRIMETHICONE, TALC, PEG-10 DIMETHICONE, MICA, DIMETHICONE, SILICA, CETYL PEG/PPG-10/1 DIMETHICONE, POLYMETHYL METHACRYLATE, DISTEARDIMONIUM HECTORITE, CYCLOMETHICONE, PHENOXYETHANOL, ISOSTEARIC ACID, STEARIC ACID, PEG/PPG-18/18 DIMETHICONE, METHYLPARABEN, DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER, NIACINAMIDE, SODIUM ASCORBYL PHOSPHATE, TOCOPHERYL ACETATE, DIMETHICONE/METHICONE COPOLYMER, SODIUM HYALURONATE,PARFUM (FRAGRANCE) [+/- MAY CONTAIN: CI 77491 (IRON OXIDES), CI 77492 (IRON OXIDES), CI 77499 (IRON OXIDES), CI 77891 (TITANIUM DIOXIDE), CI 77002 (ALUMINUM HYDROXIDE)].

………….

………………

Face Atelier Foundation

$48 USD

IMG_1552

Description from website: It’s a highly pigmented, long-lasting innovative foundation that provides buildable coverage with a natural satin finish. Silicone-based Ultra Foundation is sheer enough for younger women, yet can meet the needs of anyone that requires more coverage. It’s an out-standing performer on mature, troubled or sensitive skin. Due to its unique blend of silicones in the formulation, Ultra Foundation forms a delicate, lightweight and flexible second skin with a natural breathing ability

It’s built into Ultra Foundation, thanks to the super sophisticated, silicone-based formula.  Another bonus – it sets without powder, preserving the youthful, dewy finish and has soft-focus properties that diminish the look of fine lines and wrinkles.

IMG_1404_fotor

My thoughts: I picked Sepia as a shade which I knew straight away was a little bit too light for me. Despite the color being a little off, this blended on to my skin beautifully. Although its buildable, I would say its more of a medium coverage with a natural skin like satin finish. I really like that this foundation has color adjustors so I can fix the color if I need to make it deeper, lighter or more pink. The shades run yellow but on the website it says that the first 8 shades are yellow and if you apply a shade and it appears more pink its the wrong color. This foundation is going to be part of my kit! I have to buy more! I love it!

IMG_14040_fotor

Shades available: 16 Shades. Plus 4 color adjustors  – Zero Minus, Zero Plus, Zero Plus Plus and Heat. The adjusters will lighten or darken a shade. Heat warms up the color.

Ingredients: CYCLOMETHICONE, AQUA, GLYCERIN, ALUMINUM STARCH OCTENYLSUCCINATE, POLYGLYCERYL-4 ISOSTEARATE, CETYL PEG/PPG-10/1 DIMETHICONE, HEXYL LAURATE, POLYGLYCERYL-3 DIISOSTEARATE, MICA, QUATERNIUM-18 HECTORITE, PROPYLENE CARBONATE, CELLULOSE GUM, NYLON-12, TRIBEHENIN, LAUROYL LYSINE, TRISTEARIN, PHENOXYETHANOL, METHYLPARABEN, PROPYLPARABEN. MAY CONTAIN: TITANIUM DIOXIDE (CI 77891), MICA (CI 77019), IRON OXIDES (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499).

oil + fragrance free and non-comedogenic

10 thoughts on “Cruelty Free Foundation; OCC, Illamasqua and Face Atelier

  1. isn’t it hard to find vegan foundation? I’m using Face Atelier right now, but it’s too…shiny? for me. Slides off my face if I leave it on for the normal day amount of hours. I need to search for my hg primer I guess… 😦 so expensive! Thanks for the review, don’t think I’ll be trying OCC anytime soon…

    Like

    1. Its actually easier than you think. All 3 foundations on this post I reviewed are vegan and the 3 coverfx foundations in another post is also vegan! There are many more out there which I will review and talk about in the future. How do you apply your face atelier foundation? There are many ways you can get your foundation to last longer through the actual application tools too. Also I think it does best when it has nothing else underneath apart from clean skin. You’re right it is quite dewy and so expensive!

      Like

      1. Aww I know! Pretty much none of the products I buy are anywhere near me either! I have to just research, stare at the colors on their website and hope for the best! Thats why I find blogs a good way of checking is a product is any good or what shades I should try. What sort of shade are you btw?

        Like

Leave a Reply

